Water Industry Registration Scheme (WIRS)

Lloyd's Register operates, on behalf of Water Utility Companies, the Water Industry Registration Scheme (WIRS). The scheme represents part of an ongoing process to introduce competition in to the water services market.

Under the scheme we hold accreditation for contestable works associated with the installation of water infrastructure. The scopes of registration are as follows:

  • Design
  • Project management
  • Construction of Mains and/or Services
  • Construction of Routine Mains Connections

Gas Industry Registration Scheme (GIRS)

Lloyd's Register operates, on behalf of the UK Gas Transporters, the Gas Industry Registration Scheme (GIRS). Under the scheme, Lloyd's Register performs technical assessments of Utility Infrastructure Providers (UIPs), who elect to be assessed for accreditation, for work associated with the construction of new gas infrastructure operating up to 7 barg pressure, Infrastructure Gateway Limited currently hold the following scopes:

  • Construction/Commissioning/Connections (Routine) [CCCR]

Contractors Health and Safety Assessment Scheme (CHAS)

The Contractors Health and Safety (CHAS) Assessment Scheme is a national database of contractors who have been through a Health and Safety assessment, and have demonstrated adequate compliance and management standards. They are therefore approved to work on local authority and other members contracts, (subject to approval of other checks such as financial probity).


Safemark has been developed to help home builders meet their obligation to only appoint competent contractors.

The scheme is a pre-qualification assessment designed around the requirements of Appendix 4 of the Approved Code of Practice to CDM `07. Competence is assessed against the criteria set out in Stage 1 including, amongst others, the requirements for contractors to have a health and safety policy, access to competent health and safety advice and to ensure employees are appropriately trained.

By satisfying the Safemark assessment, the contractor is able to demonstrate Stage 1 competence to future employers, avoiding the need to repeat the process for every builder worked for. This also helps those buying services from contractors, as they need only worry about Stage 2 assessments (i.e. matching the experience of the contractor to the work being undertaken).

Benefits of SMAS Worksafe Certificated Contractors

Clients with duties under CDM 2007 must satisfy themselves that the businesses they engage or appoint are competent in H&S. This means that they must take reasonable enquiries to check that the organization or individual is competent to do the relevant work and can allocate adequate resources to it. Many clients now outsource the responsibility the Stage 1 competence to H&S schemes audited by an SSIP appointed auditor, such as Worksafe Contractor and Worksafe Consultant.

These criteria were developed in consultation with the construction industry. To meet these criteria we have demonstrate our competence in areas such as your health and safety policy, risk assessments, training records, accident records etc.